You know you want these…

In addition to my last ‘dinner-time’ recipe post, I wanted to share last week’s wonderful dessert/ baking recipes as well.

After dinner, I was looking for something sweet and dairy free to enjoy and once again turned to Angela Liddon at Oh She Glows for the following recipe. The best part about it is that it’s super-quick to blend up and enjoy. One thing  you need to do in advance is free the avocado…you should probably freeze the banana too for a thicker pudding, but I used an un-frozen banana for my recipe.

Vegan, Cold Chocolate Pudding

choc puddingIngredients:

  • 1/2 large avocado, frozen (flesh only)
  • 1 large ripe banana
  • 1 cup non-dairy milk (I used coconut milk)
  • 2 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 2 medjool dates, pitted (a.k.a. candy of the earth)
  • 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • pinch of fine grain sea salt
  • shredded coconut, to garnish
  • 3-4 ice cubes

Steps:

1. Put the milk in a blender first, then add the rest of the ingredients (except coconut) and blend. You may want to add more ice for a thicker result.

2. Sprinkle shredding coconut on top ( or any other topping of choice) and dig in.

The next morning, I figured I’d been having such great luck with recipes that I thought I would try a little baking. The result was delectable–is there anything better than the smell of cinnamon buns fresh from the oven? This vegan recipe is better than Cinnabon, in my opinion. Did I mention I’m obsessed with pumpkin? (Recipe courtesy of Hell Yea! It’s Vegan)

Vegan Pumpkin Cinnamon buns

Ingredients- Doughcinnamon buns
  • 2¼ tsp active dry yeast
  • ¼ c warm water
  • ¾ c pumpkin puree
  • 2 tbsp earth balance, melted
  • 2 c flour, plus more for dusting
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • ¼ tsp nutmeg
  • ½ tsp salt

Filling

  • ½ c packed brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp ground cinnamon
  • ¼ c earth balance, melted
  • 1/2 cup walnut pieces (optional)

Icing

  • 1 tsp earth balance
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1½ c powdered sugar
  • 2 tbsp water
  Instructions
  1. In a small bowl, stir yeast into warm water; set aside to proof (get foamy)
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, nutmeg and salt.
  3. Add pumpkin puree and margarine to your foamy yeast mixture; blend well.
  4. Make a well in your dry mix and add liquid, stirring to incorporate.
  5. Knead for a couple of minutes until smooth, adding extra flour a little bit at a time as needed to keep it from sticking to everything.
  6. Cover with a tea towel and set in a warm place– I turned my oven on to preheat it and allowed the warmth to help the dough rise on top of the stove.
  7. Once it’s about doubled, punch it down and roll out until it’s rectangular and about ¼-½” thick.
  8. Mix the earth balance, sugar and cinnamon and spread over rolled out dough. Sprinkle walnut pieces evenly on top and roll the dough up like a jelly roll.
  9. Cut the roll into ten pieces and place rolls swirly side up on a greased baking dish.
  10. Bake at 375° for 25 minutes.
  11. While the buns bake, whisk together icing ingredients until smooth.
  12. Set aside at room temperature (refrigeration will make it difficult to pour).
  13. Spread icing over buns and EAT!

I also tried my hand at some delicious muffins (they were a hit with Bill and my parents when I brought some home this past weekend!) Did I mention I love pumpkin? I did? OK, just checking.

muffinsVegan Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

Ingredients

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1 (15 ounce) can solid-pack pumpkin
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips

Steps

1. I break the rules: I put all the ingredients in a bowl and mixed them vigorously. Then I added the chocolate chips and dropped the batter by the tablespoon into my greased muffin pan. I will note that the batter required a bit more water than the recipe called for, but it all worked out in the end 🙂

2. Bake the muffins for 25 minutes in a 375 degree oven. AND EAT!

Leave a Reply

